The Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service Board

Members by Virtue of the Offices They Hold

Lord President (Chairman of the Board) - The Rt Hon Lord Carloway

Lord Carloway is a graduate of the University of Edinburgh (LLB Hons) and was admitted to the Faculty or Advocates in 1977.  He was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1990 having previously been an advocate depute for three years.  He became a judge in 2000 and was appointed to the Second Division of the Inner House eight years later.  He was Lord Justice Clerk from August 2012 till December 2015. 

His report into criminal law and practice included recommendations for far reaching changes to our justice system, many of which were taken forward into legislation through the Criminal Justice (Scotland) Bill, which was approved by the Scottish Parliament.  He also led the steering group overseeing the Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service review into Evidence and Procedure, including options for improving how children and other vulnerable witnesses provide evidence in criminal cases

Lord Justice Clerk –The Rt Hon Lady Dorrian

Lady Dorrian was appointed a Judge of the Supreme Courts in 2005, having served as a Temporary Judge since 2002.  She was appointed to the Inner House in November 2012 and, in April 2016, was appointed Lord Justice Clerk.

A graduate of the University of Aberdeen, Lady Dorrian was admitted to the Faculty of Advocates in 1981 before becoming Standing Junior Counsel to the Health & Safety Executive and Commission between 1987 and 1994.
She served as Advocate Depute between 1988 and 1991 and as Standing Junior to the Department of Energy between 1991 and 1994.  Lady Dorrian was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1994.  Between 1997 and 2001 she was a member of the Criminal Injuries Compensation Board.

President of the Scottish Tribunals – The Rt Hon Lady Smith

Lady Smith was appointed a Judge of the Supreme Courts in 2001 and was appointed to the Inner House in November 2012. She is the first person to hold the office of President of the Scottish Tribunals.

A graduate of the University of Edinburgh (LLB Hons) she was admitted to the Faculty of Advocates in 1980 and appointed Queen's Counsel in 1993. She served as a temporary sheriff from 1995 to 1999. Lady Smith was appointed Chairman of the Scottish Partnership on Domestic Abuse from 1998 to 2000 and served as Advocate Depute from 2000 until she was appointed a Judge. She has served as a member of the Court of Session Rules Council, as an Employment Appeal Tribunal Judge and as a member of the Judicial Appointments Board for Scotland.

Chief Executive of the Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service - Eric McQueen

Eric McQueen was appointed as Chief Executive of the Scottish Court Service (SCS) on 1 January 2013.  He joined the SCS in 2003 as Director for Grampian, Highland and Islands, before being appointed in 2006 as Executive Director Field Services with over-arching responsibility for all operational services throughout the Scottish Court Service.


Judicial Members

Sheriff Principal Duncan L Murray

Duncan Murray was appointed Sheriff Principal of North Strathclyde on 1 October 2014.  He graduated with an LLB Hons from the University of Aberdeen in 1980 and qualified as a solicitor with Robson Mclean and Paterson WS, becoming a partner in 1985.  He joined Morton Fraser in 2002 and was Chief Executive of the firm.   He served as President of the Law Society of Scotland 2004-2005 and was appointed part-time sheriff in 2006.  Until his appointment as Sheriff Principal he was a solicitor member of the Scottish Civil Justice Council. 

Sheriff A Grant McCulloch

Sheriff McCulloch was a solicitor in private practice for 30 years. He was appointed a temporary Sheriff in 1992 and thereafter Sheriff in 2004, first in Dundee, and is currently senior Sheriff at Kirkcaldy.   He is a graduate of Edinburgh University, in Law (1973) & Social Sciences (1974).  He was a solicitor-advocate, from 1993.

Dr Joe Morrow QC

Dr Joe Morrow qualified as a solicitor, was admitted to the Faculty of Advocates in 2000 and appointed QC in September 2015. He has worked in the private, public and voluntary sectors and since 2008 has been President of the Mental Health Tribunal for Scotland.  Since January 2014 he has held the office of Lord Lyon, King of Arms.

Previously, he was HM Commissioner for Mental Welfare, and chaired two significant Inquiries while with the Commission.  He has experience of sitting as a Legal Chair with other Tribunals, in particular the Immigration and Asylum Tribunal and was President of ASNTS from October 2011 to April 2014.  He has been a member of the Judicial Council since early 2012.

Sheriff Aisha Anwar

Sheriff  Anwar was appointed as a part-time Sheriff in 2011 and has been a full time Sheriff at Glasgow Sheriff Court since 2014.  She is a graduate of Edinburgh University, LLB (Hons) and Oxford University (Bachelor in Civil Law).  She spent 13 years in private practice including holding the role of partner and Head of Litigation at DLA Piper.

Morna Rae JP

Morna Rae has been a Justice of the Peace in North Strathclyde since 2016.  A Law graduate from Glasgow University she has worked in a range of welfare, planning and partnership development roles for North Ayrshire Council since 1999.


Advocate Member

Dr Kirsty J Hood

Kirsty Hood was admitted to the Faulty of Advocates in 2001 and has a varied civil practice, with particular expertise in cross border issues. She is the author of “Conflict of Laws within the UK”. She is a graduate of the University of Glasgow.


Solicitor Member

Mr Simon J D Catto

Simon Catto is a practising solicitor advocate and member (partner) of the firm HBJ Gateley, where he is Head of Litigation specialising in commercial, insolvency and sport.  He is a graduate of the University of Edinburgh and in 2007 qualified as a solicitor advocate with extended rights of audience in civil cases.


Members from Outside the Justice System

Mr Joseph Martin Al-Gharabally

Joe Al-Gharabally graduated from Napier University with a BEng (Degree) Electrical & Electronic Engineering 1990 and an MBA 1995. He has held a number of senior positions and directorships and worked in banking and technology before heading up the Financial Services retail banking sector group for Deloitte Consulting in Scotland and Northern Ireland. Joe joined global accountancy firm Ernst & Young in 2006, and is a senior director where he leads the UK banking performance improvement practice, as well as a number of areas including operations, recruitment, learning & development, diversity and inclusiveness.

Professor R Hugh MacDougall

Until his retirement in June 2014, Professor MacDougall was Bute Professor of Medicine, Head of the School of Medicine and Dean of Faculty at the University of St Andrews.  He has held a number of senior appointments, specialising in radiotherapy and oncology.  A graduate of Universities of St Andrews and Edinburgh, he has written and contributed to a number of scientific publications and medical text books.

Colonel (Retired) John David McIlroy, BSc CEng FICE

David McIlroy retired from active service in October 2015 after 34 years as an Officer in the British Army at Command and on the Staff, as well as directing and delivering complex projects in a NATO environment in both European Headquarters and in Afghanistan.  During his career he commanded increasingly larger units and organisations and has extensive senior management experience within the Ministry of Defence in diverse environments both nationally and internationally. 

A graduate of Glasgow University, David McIlroy qualified as a Chartered Civil Engineer and became a Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers during his career.  He has led multi-discipline engineer groups responsible for the design, delivery and project management of infrastructure development plans in support of British Forces conducting Operations abroad.