New SCTS Board members appointed

Sep 11, 2020

Three new members have joined the Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service Board.

Lord Woolman was assigned as President of the Scottish Tribunals in August, 2020 and replaces Lady Smith, former President. Lord Woolman, left,Ld Woolman was appointed as a judge of the Supreme Courts in March 2008. He was appointed to the Second Division of the Inner House of the Court of Session in February 2020.

He is a graduate of Aberdeen University. Between 1978 and 1987 he was a lecturer at Edinburgh University, where for 3 years he was the Associate Dean of the Law School. In 1987 he was admitted to the Faculty of Advocates and was appointed as a Queen's Counsel in 1998. From 1999 to 2002 he served as an advocate depute, and between 2004 and 2008 he was Keeper of the Advocates Library. He was formerly chairman of the Scottish Council of Law Reporting, the Bar Mediation Group and the Free Legal Services Unit.

Two shrieval members have also been appointed to the Board.

Sh PasportnikovSheriff Olga Pasportnikov, right, has been the resident sheriff at Elgin following her appointment in 2015.  A graduate of the University of Dundee, she was admitted as a solicitor in 1991. After training at Balfour and Manson, she worked in private practice, latterly specialising in Family Law at Russel and Aitken.  She worked at the Law Society of Scotland in Client Relations from 1998 to 2003.  From 2003 she worked with the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service until her appointment to the bench.

Sh Martin-BrownSheriff Jillian Martin-Brown, left, was appointed as a sheriff in Dundee in 2019, having served as a summary sheriff since 2016.  A graduate of the University of Aberdeen, she was a solicitor in private practice for six years and an advocate for six years.  As a solicitor, she represented the Scottish Prison Service at Fatal Accident Inquiries throughout Scotland.   She was appointed as Standing Junior Counsel to the Scottish Government and served as an ad-hoc Advocate Depute.  As a summary sheriff, she had particular responsibility for the Problem Solving Court in Forfar.  She was appointed as a commercial sheriff in 2020.

The SCTS Board is made up of the Chairman Lord Carloway, seven judicial members, and six non-judicial members, including the SCTS Chief Executive, one advocate, one solicitor and three members with experience and knowledge from varied backgrounds including business, finance or a corporate function such as strategic management or operational delivery at a senior level.

Right-hand Menu