New Board members appointed

Mar 02, 2018

The Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service has appointed two new judicial members to its Board.

Sheriff Aisha Anwar and Morna Rae JP took up their posts on 1st March, 2018.

Sheriff Anwar was appointed as a part-time Sheriff in 2011 and has been a full time Sheriff at Glasgow Sheriff Court since 2014.  She is a graduate of Edinburgh University, LLB (Hons) and Oxford University (Bachelor in Civil Law).  She spent 13 years in private practice, including holding the role of partner and Head of Litigation at DLA Piper.

Morna Rae has been a Justice of the Peace in North Strathclyde since 2016.  A Law graduate from Glasgow University, she has worked in a range of welfare, planning and partnership development roles for North Ayrshire Council since 1999.

The SCTS Board is made up of the Chairman Lord Carloway, seven judicial members, and six non-judicial members, including the SCTS Chief Executive, one advocate, one solicitor and three members with experience and knowledge from varied backgrounds including business, finance or a corporate function such as strategic management or operational delivery at a senior level.

The SCTS is an independent non-ministerial department, governed by its Board, which is chaired by the Lord President, Scotland's most senior judge.

Right-hand Menu